On October the 7th I will be taking part in the 2008 Jungle Marathon which is a 130 mile race through the Amazon Jungle.  It is a self sufficient race which means I will have to race with all of my food and bedding for the week.  Being a bit greedy this means my rucksack is currently weighing in at about 13kg. In preparation I have run about 1000 miles round herefordshire, mostly very slowly and in a bad mood, had 140 cold baths, 60 saunas and bought an unfeasible amount of kit.

I am running the race for three reasons -

1) it will be good fun
2) zinnia agreed I could do this instead of selling the house
3) to raise money for Breast Cancer Haven.  I know so many friends and family who have been affected by this odious disease that I am keen to raise funds to support this charity.

I have included some more details about the race below and my slow bad tempered progress can be tracked on www.junglemarathon.com or on my blog which Zinnia will keep updated during the race http://thestrawhouse.weebly.com/jungle-marathon-blog.html.

If you make a donation please leave your email address so I can send my thanks and some photos after the race.

Thank you for visting my page
regards
Kes

Jungle Marathon 2008

On October 7th this year, an international field of competitors will once again begin their journey at the picturesque resort of Alter-do-Chão, and sail up the Tapajos River, the most beautiful tributary of the Amazon River, to the tiny hamlet of Itapuama. Here they will spend two days at JM base camp, acclimatising and learning how to handle many of the obstacles they may encounter in the Amazon Jungle, in preparation for the start of the 2008 edition of Jungle Marathon..

Jungle Marathon is a 200 km footrace, run in stages. The race is sufficient meaning that competitors carry all their own food and equipment for the week and an efficient local and international team provide comprehensive logistic support.

Runners pass by check points every 5km- 7km where they are re-supplied with bottled water and they can be monitored by the medical team.

Nights are spent sleeping in hammocks in pre-determined campsites, generally on the crystalline-sand beaches along the Tapajos River with the backdrop of the deep jungle behind them. Stages vary in length from 16km to 85km.

The longest of the stages takes competitors two days to complete so they continue running through the night.

The race itself is held in the spectacular Floresta Nacional do Tapajos, a 600 thousand protected area in the Amazon Rainforest, which lies in the Brazilian state of Pará, in North West Brazil. Here the competitors will interact with the natives hospitably and an outstanding Rainforest biodiversity.

This year, up to 80 runners will take part in the race coming from various parts of Brazil and from countries as far reaching as Australia, South Africa, USA, Germany, Austria, France, Belgium, England, Scotland, Canada, China and Denmark.

Several are runners who failed to make it to the finish on the previous year, but for many, it is the beginning of an incredible experience, combining the challenge of sport with the thrill of an eco adventure.

Jungle Marathon 2008 takes place from October 7th-16th.

3/23/2011 10:35:04 am

Just need to say your article is striking. The clearness inside your article is merely spectacular and i can take for granted you might be an expert on this field. Effectively with your permission enable me to grab your rss feed to retain up to date with forthcoming article. Thank you a million and please preserve up the efficient function.

Reply
4/13/2011 12:56:24 pm

I would like to thank you for the efforts you've got made in writing this publish. I am hoping the exact same greatest function from you within the future too. In reality your creative writing abilities has inspired me to begin my own BlogEngine weblog now. Seriously the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up can be a fine example of it. <a href="http://www.getairforceones.com/"> Air Force 1 2011 </a>

Reply
4/25/2011 04:26:41 pm

If you wish to be the best man, you must suffer the bitterest of the bitter.

Reply
4/4/2012 08:05:10 pm

Your blog too good, I will soon come back again, to keep at it.

Reply
4/22/2012 09:46:39 pm

I can say you have great creativity and clarity on your blogs since you presented each step in a well accomplished manner.This explores my knowledge on various things.Thanks for sharing

Reply
5/1/2012 12:03:27 pm

If you are one, who wear the sunglasses often to keep away the sun, <a href="http://www.oakleysunglassessalea.net/">oakley sunglasses sale</a> are agood shield and trendy accessories that protect you from the sun, and also give you the stylish look.

Reply
5/14/2012 08:55:08 pm

helpful info, thanks bro

Reply
5/21/2012 01:25:40 pm

A nice blog, I'll come again.

Reply
5/27/2012 06:05:46 pm

Life, work, and study if it can automatic, the education of the convergence can certainly easier.
Thanks so much and stick with it No doubt you will definitely reach your goals! have a great day!

Reply

This is a great post ! it was very informative. I look forward in reading more of your work. Also, I made sure to bookmark your website so I can come back later. I enjoyed every moment of reading it.

Reply
6/8/2012 01:19:24 pm


The life of people, always has to avoid ups. Not always such as sun dongsheng, also won't always was painful. Repeated a float a heavy, to a person, it is tested. Therefore, float on it, and don't have to pride; Under the sink in, don't need more pessimistic. Must be blunt, modest attitude, optimistic and enterprising, forward.

Reply
7/4/2012 07:33:23 pm

Learn to let his quiet, the thinking was down, slowly lowering the desire to things. The self often zero, every day is a new starting point, no age limit, as long as the things you desire the appropriate reduce, will win more chance to win.

Reply
7/22/2012 05:58:36 pm


Nice article.Always nice to read some tips concerning the appearance of our blogs.
Wonderful articles, let me have to this admiration

Reply
7/22/2012 06:33:58 pm


Nice article.Always nice to read some tips concerning the appearance of our blogs.
Wonderful articles, let me have to this admiration

Reply
8/23/2012 06:55:19 pm

Nice article.Always nice to read some tips concerning the appearance of our blogs.
Wonderful articles, let me have to this admiration

Reply
1/29/2017 10:11:03 pm

Great write up and pretty much interesting to read jungle marathon. Hope you will come with some more innovative running ideas. Love to read. But always wear running sunglasses in every marathon for better concentration.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Jungle Marathon 2008

    On October the 7th I will be taking part in the 2008 Jungle Marathon which is a 130 mile race through the Amazon Jungle.  It is a self sufficient race which means I will have to race with all of my food and bedding for the week.  Being a bit greedy this means my rucksack is currently weighing in at about 13kg. In preparation I have run about 1000 miles round herefordshire, mostly very slowly and in a bad mood, had 140 cold baths, 60 saunas and bought an unfeasible amount of kit.

    I am running the race for three reasons -
    1) it will be good fun
    2) zinnia agreed I could do this instead of selling the house
    3) to raise money for Breast Cancer Haven.  I know so many friends and family who have been affected by this odious disease that I am keen to raise funds to support this charity.

    I have included some more details about the race below and my slow bad tempered progress can be tracked on
    www.junglemarathon.com or on this blog which Zinnia will keep updated during the race

    If you make a donation please leave your email address so I can send my thanks and some photos after the race.

    Archives

    July 2010
    October 2008
    September 2008

    RSS Feed