Well, I have been home for a few days now, I have just about stopped eating and drinking everything in sight and my feet have returned to normal.  I currently weigh about 14stone (I lost 1/2 stone during the race), so am now looking forward to getting back on the beef and putting back on the 2 1/2 stone I have now lost training and completing this race.

All in all the race went very well, I started very slowly (3rd from last after day one - 87th place) and moved up through the pack, through a combination of me getting faster, other runners gettng slower and people dropping out.  I was extremely proud to finish the 90km stage in 24th and my overall standing rise to 32nd.

During the week I got stung about 20times by wasps, bitten innumerate times by ants and saw one snake (unfortunately I was having a wee at the time so did feel a little exposed).  It was an amazing week (if a little frightening at times, the runners that dropped out after the second day were in quite a state!) but I don't think I will be rushing to return the rainforest is a pretty inhospitable place and there are certainly nicer places to spend a week.

If anyone is interested there is a documentary on ITV3/4 on the 3rd of December and an article on the Sunday Times on the first sunday in November.

Thank you to everyone for your donations and emails of support they were much appreciated.

regards
Kes

Cath
10/23/2008 08:27:19 pm

Well done on finishing the race, you look knackered there mate.

You managed to avoid the cameras well in the jungle, a bit of a suprise!

It looks like a fantastic place but reading your blog possibly not the best place to go on holiday if you don't like creepy crawlys or snakes! (That counts me out then!)

Glad to hear you enjoyed the experience.

See you soon

Reply
3/18/2010 09:19:38 pm

Wow dad you sound as if you are famous

Reply
2/3/2011 02:03:51 pm

sdfsdfsszdgfdsg

Reply
2/3/2011 02:04:08 pm

Reply
5/23/2011 01:20:30 pm

I want to marry that person. Will I'm tired. Outstretched arm. The babe was very distressed cuddle

Reply
9/2/2011 05:41:34 pm

To Kes,

Congratulation for finishing the race at the jungle. I assume you have a great experience when you did the run at the jungle. 90km distance is one great achievement.

Keep up the good work...

Reply
4/10/2012 09:20:36 pm

It is amazing how some people come up with cool ideas. I really enjoyed reading this article. I'm actually glad to see all this stuff, Thanks for convey this.

Reply
4/27/2012 11:23:27 am

I am very interested in the way you said, I will try to make their own, what you said to me a lot. Have time to look at my store, <a href="http://www.cheapoakleysunglassesforsale.net/">oakley sale</a> thank you!

Reply
5/6/2012 12:26:57 pm

Your blog is very informative and useful. You have written it very well. I have bookmarked your blog. Your blog written in very good, I like it very much, I will often come to.Thank you to let me see your blog, I love you blog style, very cool.Your blog too good, I will soon come back again, to keep at it.Your website is very beautiful, you do something great!!Your essay is good, I like it very much. Excellent Blog! I really admire your thinking and the way you have put these information in this post.

Reply
5/7/2012 04:51:23 pm

A hat shading, decoration, raising temperature and protection functions. So a lot of more phyletic, the choice also has exquisite. Also in the modelling of hat plays a pivotal role.

Reply
5/16/2012 12:12:41 pm

Sexy black low bosom dress, with the same sexy leopard grain wide brim hat, deduce the most classic sex appeal, make sexy queen.

Reply
5/23/2012 05:03:33 pm

Sorching summer, fashionable men and women be cool edge tool, across half a century of classic, no doubt, Charles Oakley sunglasses is absolutely necessary summer you the equipment, to wear it, male of cool, female of charming is spruce, let you may even hope every day was a sunny day!

Reply
5/27/2012 06:06:47 pm

Life, work, and study if it can automatic, the education of the convergence can certainly easier.
Thanks so much and stick with it No doubt you will definitely reach your goals! have a great day!

Reply
6/14/2012 07:31:31 pm

In such cases, one can find superior discount oakley sunglasses cheap that though might have already been applied

Reply
7/15/2012 05:55:06 pm

This is a great post ! it was very informative. I look forward in reading more of your work. Also, I made sure to bookmark your website so I can come back later. I enjoyed every moment of reading it.Just shows that writing by way of knowledge brings so a lot depth and relevance to types readers. Thank you for sharing.

Reply
7/24/2012 04:51:51 pm

I was very pleased to find this site. I wanted to thank you for this great read!! I definitely enjoyed every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out the new stuff you post.
designed with simple and elegance style which will highlight your noble qualities,this leather one is very suit for the city white collars! Enjoy the online.<a href="http://www.wholesaleneweracapshats.com/">supreme hats</a>
Also you can see the discount bag here, are slide pockets and large zip pocket inside features dual multipurpose.

Reply
8/20/2012 05:54:01 pm

Just after the expertise of numerous years of design, production and marketplace demand, Oakley use on the crystallization of high-tech and intelligent, creating a series of high-performance fashion eyewear. Low-cost Oakley Sunglasses concept of subversion, is that it glasses, comfort, practicality and artisticof integration. Item design or alternative of components, have been a series of advanced scientific experiments and testing to ensure its comfort and premium quality, high degree of integration and also the function and fashion.

Reply
10/9/2012 06:15:42 pm

Really i appreciate the effort you made to share the knowledge.The topic here i found was really effective to the topic which i was researching for a long time

Reply
2/13/2014 05:50:41 pm


visit our classified sites.

http://www.spotbuz.com
http://www.jobs.spotbuz.com
http://www.hotels.spotbuz.com

Reply

it is very good and i like it very much. thank you!That is very kind of you to write this share for us, thanks a lot.

Reply
1/29/2017 10:06:11 pm

Very honest post. Full with energy and boost loves to read it. But during running or other sports activities always tries to use running sunglasses for the sake of wellness.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Jungle Marathon 2008

    On October the 7th I will be taking part in the 2008 Jungle Marathon which is a 130 mile race through the Amazon Jungle.  It is a self sufficient race which means I will have to race with all of my food and bedding for the week.  Being a bit greedy this means my rucksack is currently weighing in at about 13kg. In preparation I have run about 1000 miles round herefordshire, mostly very slowly and in a bad mood, had 140 cold baths, 60 saunas and bought an unfeasible amount of kit.

    I am running the race for three reasons -
    1) it will be good fun
    2) zinnia agreed I could do this instead of selling the house
    3) to raise money for Breast Cancer Haven.  I know so many friends and family who have been affected by this odious disease that I am keen to raise funds to support this charity.

    I have included some more details about the race below and my slow bad tempered progress can be tracked on
    www.junglemarathon.com or on this blog which Zinnia will keep updated during the race

    If you make a donation please leave your email address so I can send my thanks and some photos after the race.

    Archives

    July 2010
    October 2008
    September 2008

    RSS Feed